Phone: (303) 331-2608 P.O. Box 711, Montrose, CO 81402 or Email Us

Colorado Gold Contest Status Update

Contest News and Notes

Contest is now closed for submissions.

_________________________________ Contest Timeline April 1, 2014 at midnight: Contest opens June 1, 2014, 11:59 PM MST: Contest closes June 4: Entries to first-round judges July 16 : Entries due back from judges, 3rd reads go out August 1: 3rd reads due back August 1-2: Finalists notified, entries go to finalists for updating August 9: Updated entries due back from finalists* August 9: Finalist entries go to final judges Mid-to-late August: Non-finaling entries go back to contestants September 6: Winners are announced at the Saturday night banquet *This is a new service, with a nod to Crested Butte Writers contest The Sandies. Finalists can see the first-round judges' comments and decide if they want to make changes before the entries go to the agents and editors who will do the final judging. This is a hard deadline. Any entry not returned by August 8 will go to the final judges as is.

Subscribe to our emails
to stay informed about the Colorado Gold Contest.

cogfinalists For almost thirty years, the Colorado Gold contest for unpublished writers has given aspiring novelists the chance to get their work in front of an aquiring agent or editor while also providing feedback and encouragement for the craft of writing. Below are the finalists for the 2014 Colorado Gold Contest.

2014 Finalists


The Homeplace, Kevin Wolf (Littleton, CO) - WINNER The Lineage, Vanessa Lillie (Providence, RI) The Treasure of Seleucia, Powl Smith (Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates)


The Breath of a Sea Gypsy, Rebecca Hopkins (Indonesia) Book Two, Monica Comas (New York, NY) The Cookbook, Monica Comas - WINNER The Shape of a Kiss, Charis Himeda (Worcester, MA) A Sister in Need, Jenny Hansen (Orange County, CA)


The First Cut, Mary Birk (Centennial, CO) - WINNER Iced, Hamilton Crow (Breckenridge, CO) The Last Government Girl, Ellen Herbert (Falls Church, VA) Low Country Blood, Sue Hinkin (Littleton, CO) Until We Meet Again, Jill Flateland (Arvada, CO)


Beloved Foe, Janet Baltz (Lakewood, CO) - WINNER Cherub's Play, Steven Moores (Littleton, CO) Love's Last Stand, Steven Moores The Reluctant Heart, Annie Parnell

Speculative Fiction

Beauty is for Suckers, Michael Carson (Montrose, CO) - WINNER Don't Wake Me if I'm Dreaming, Darla Upchurch (Westminster, CO) Immortality Reborn, Tracy Brisendine (Denver, CO) The Jack of Souls, Stephen Merlino (Seattle, WA) Wicked Thorn, Kristina Wright (San Jose, CA)

Young Adult/Middle Grade

The Amulet of Isis, S. D. Keeling (Nixa, MO) Never Believe a Lie Twice, Kathleen Pinckard (Brea, CA) Requiem in La Paz, Jonna Gjevre (Broomfield, CO) The Shuvani's Spell, Kara Seal (Parker, CO) - WINNER Virago, Ida Olson (Cheyenne, WY) ______________________ Enter the first 20 pages of your manuscript and a 3 to 4 page synopsis in one of six categories (see below). Two judges from RMFW will evaluate and score each entry. The top five submissions scoring 130 points or more in each category will make the finals and will then be judged by an agent or editor who is attending the Colorado Gold Conference. One winner will be named in each category. Winners receive $100 and a certificate. The remaining finalists receive $30 and a certificate. Winners will be announced at the Colorado Gold Writers Conference awards banquet September 6th, 2014, at the Westin Hotel in Westminster, Colorado.

Announcing the 2014 Colorado Gold Final Judges!

Action/Thriller Matt Martz, Editor, The Quick Brown Fox and Company Mainstream Peter Senftleben, Associate Editor, Kensington Books Mystery/Suspense Terri Bischoff, Editor, Midnight Ink Romance Raelene Gorlinsky, Publisher, Ellora’s Cave Publishing Inc. Speculative Fiction Jessica Renheim, Associate Editor, Dutton / Penguin Group Young Adult/Middle Grade Shannon Hassan, Agent, Marsal Lyon Literary Agency Entry Fee $30 per entry or $55 per entry to receive a critique from one of the first two judges.

2014 Contest Committee

Chris Devlin, RMFW Contest Chair Nikki Baird Karen Duvall Jeanne Stein Mark Stevens Pam Nowak

Helpful Links

Contact Twitter: @RMFWriters, #cogo2014
Copyright © 2014 by Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers
and the authors providing content for this website.